0800 801 482

Health Consumer Service Trust

The Trust was set up 30 years ago by the Waikato Hospital Board to act as an independent complaints service for the hospital. Due to its success it was extended to cover other Health Districts but now covers any health service provided to a consumer in just the Tairawhiti and Bay of Plenty regions. It is fully funded by Te Whatu Ora – Health New Zealand.

The Trustees decided the best way to handle complaints was to facilitate appropriate resolutions rather than acting as an advocacy service, a position that was later adopted by advocates acting for the Health Commissioner. The two services act alongside one another and at times refer a complaint to the other service as the Advocates have statutory power and the Associates of the Trust have greater enquiry areas they can explore.

A freephone number (0800 801 482) is available to initiate a complaint. Consumers who have problems with the health service they have received are urged to phone this number to get assistance with expressing their concerns.

The HCST is a non-threatening complaints service which most providers welcome the Trust’s input as it enables them to cover their contract responsibility to action complaints without aggression becoming a factor in the resolution. This provides a better outcome for both parties and also highlights areas where the service provided can be improved.

If you would like some pamphlets to display in your medical office, or have a complaint that needs resolution phone 0800 801 482 for free confidential assistance. Or see the “contact us” page for other contact points.

Murray Loewenthal

Chair, Founding Trustee

Murray is a Fellow Chartered Accountant. He was in public practice for more than 30 years in Otorohanga before his retirement in 2000. Since that time, Murray has continued to be involved in business, currently holding positions as follows:

  • Chair, Health Consumer Service Trust.
  • Director (past or present) of numerous companies.
  • Life Member of Waikato Justice of the Peace Association and the Waikato BoP Cancer Society.
  • Chair of NZ Jaycee Senators.
  • Previous Chair of Waikato Primary Health from inception until it merged into Midland Health Network.

    In 2017, he was awarded a Queen’s Service Medal for services to health and the community.

    Catherine Ryan

    Deputy Chair, Founding Trustee

    Catherine is a graduate of Education and Law. She has taught law at the University of Waikato Commerce Faculty and worked in Private Practice and as Legal advisor for Waitemata DHB.

    Catherine’s medical experience is in Research Ethics at Waikato DHB and Clinical Ethics for Auckland, Waitemata and Counties Manukau DHBs. At present, Catherine is a member of Counties Manukau Clinical Ethics Committee.

    Catherine is a member of Medsafe’s Medicines Assessment Advisory Committee is a member of the Ministry of Health’s Advisory Committee on Assisted Reproductive Technology.

    Delwyn Walker


    Located in Tauranga, Delwyn is currently the Health Manager at Te Runanga o Ngati Ranginui Iwi, where she leads the operational management of the Manukura Hauora Roopu ki Ranginui me Rangiora Health Hub. Previous roles have included:


    • CEO, Pacific Island Community (Tauranga) Trust
    • Community Development Advisor & Whanau Ora Facilitator, Welcome Bay Community Centre
    • Manager Health and Social Services, Ngai Te Rangi Iwi Incorporated
    • Director, Western BOP PHO, Tauranga.

    Lauren Bruce

    Executive Officer

    Lauren is an experienced Director and Executive Officer across a variety of sectors with particular strengths in best practice governance, finance, management/administration and stakeholder communication.

    She is an honest, reliable and well organised qualified Chartered Accountant and Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors of New Zealand, who displays a high level of emotional agility and professionalism.

    Lauren graduated from the University of Otago with a Bachelor of Commerce with a double major in Accounting & Finance, and a Master of Business in Finance with Distinction.